I love love love DC! The city is so amazing to me. This was my first time seeing her all decorated for Christmas, and what a beauty she was!! One of my favorite sights was to see the White House. How amazing! Unfortunately, they don’t light the National Christmas Tree until December 1, the very day we left to go home. But with all the other beauties going on, not sure if my brain could handle any more, so just as well. Our beautiful Capital! Inside the Capital’s Rotunda…it was absolutely amazing! Inside the Library of Congress. Breath-taking! The Basilica of the National Shrine of the Immaculate Conception is the largest Roman Catholic church in the United States and North America, and is one of the ten largest churches in the world. Construction first began in 1920. By 1961, the exterior was complete, and by 2007 the interior was complete. Visiting this cathedral was like visiting one of the great cathedrals in Europe way back in the day when they were all new and shiny. I wish I could’ve captured just how massive it was inside. I feel like pictures just don’t do it justice. Truly amazing!Gold tile covered the ceilings. Your spirit couldn’t help but be lifted high. And ours were just soaring. Until.. I really wanted to see the Holocaust Museum, but should’ve seen this first, and then went to the Cathedral. Right across the street from the Holocaust Museum is my Dad’s work. Well, he works at the USDA here in Kansas City, but has to travel often to DC, and this is where he goes. The USDA covers about 2 blocks! It’s HUGE! Lots of ag biz to handle I suppose. Just because the boy can direct planes, does not necessarily mean he can direct anything else. Long story short, he took us on a big loop to put us right back in front of the Holocaust Museum. But, we finally found the Washington Monument.

Along with the WWII Memorial.Beautifully done!I stood in front of the White House and just stared and stared at it. Thinking of all who lived there. (Okay, mainly Jackie Kennedy) Nothing better than just relaxing and reflecting with a Pumpkin Spice Latte after taking in all the sights of DC. It also pretty neat to just go to a coffee shop, and not have to chase a 1 year old and 2 year old all around. Not that we EVER go to a coffee shop! Here in these parts, Starbucks has drive-thrus! These are really expensive electric cars! Like 200K! Heath asked me if I had ever heard of Tesla, and I said the band? He just rolled his eyes at me. I soooo don’t keep up with expensive cars. Back to our hotel for a fun night with the NATCA folks!!!! Oh, did I mention NATCA was the whole reason we were there? 🙂 We had SOOOOOOOOO much fun in DC!!!!!! I felt like we were on a 2nd honeymoon! I really really loved it.

